Cllr. Carol Nolan First Female Chairperson Of Slieve Bloom Association

The 2016 Annual General Meeting of the Slieve Bloom Association was held in the ICA Hall, Mountmellick on Thursday 28th January at 8:30pm. The Slieve Bloom Association, who celebrated 40 years in existence in 2015, strives to preserve and promote the Slieve Bloom region.

Cllr. Carol Nolan

Cllr. Carol Nolan, recently elected Chairperson of the Slieve Bloom Association

Sinn Féin Local Councillor and General Election Candidate for the Offaly/North Tipperary Constituency, Carol Nolan said: “I’m honored to be the first woman to be elected as chair of the Slieve Bloom Association, a great organisation which has been in existence for over 40 years.”

Outgoing Chairperson John Rigney thanked the committee, association members and all those who helped the association during his time as Chairperson. He especially thanked outgoing Secretary Mary Lynch for her many years hard work on behalf of the association. Cllr. Seamus McDonald, returning Vice President of the Association and newly elected Vice Chairperson concurred, congratulating Cllr. Nolan and wishing her well in the up-coming elections.

Cllr. Carol Nolan thanked the outgoing Chairperson John Rigney, the outgoing Secretary Mary Lynch and outgoing PRO Kathleen Culliton for all they have done for the association over the last number of years. She said: “I look forward to building on the success of the association in my role as chair. I am also looking forward to working with all of our dedicated members in our endeavours to promote the Slieve Bloom mountains in tandem with the promotion of our rich heritage and culture.”

Elected officers: Returning President Mick Dowling. Outgoing Chairperson John Rigney, elected Chairperson Cllr. Carol Nolan. Outgoing Secretary Mary Ann Lynch, elected Secretary Carole Keegan. Returning Treasurer Brian Healion. Outgoing PRO Kathleen Culliton, elected PRO Barry Keegan. Returning Liaison Officer (Coillte) Leo Brophy. Events Manager Kathleen Culliton. Returning Vice Presidents Cllr. Seamus McDonald and Derek Fanning. Outgoing Vice Chairperson Cllr. Carol Nolan, elected Vice Chairperson Cllr. Seamus McDonald. Elected Vice Secretary Mary Rigney. Outgoing Vice Treasurer Carole Keegan, elected Vice Treasurer Matt Barrett.

The next meeting will take place in Kinnitty on Thursday 31st March at 8:30pm

For further information on the Slieve Bloom Association and to keep up-to-date on events find us on Facebook or follow on Twitter


Why not leave us a comment